Parrotlets Forum : TalkParrotlets banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
I'm just learning myself. But I read in a book I got about them that onions can kill them as well (who would want a bird with bad breath anyways!)
If you find anything please post it on here, I just got my bird a few days ago and really want to be sure he is eating well. I've heard that sometimes they will not eat and starve to death..I'm so scared he will do that.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Bad foods

I have a book that states
Rhubarb and avacados
Eggplant
ChocolateSweet and salty foods
Alcohol
Caffiene <-- as if they need any!:eek:

If I discover any others, I'll post em'

Billy T

·
Registered
10 Posts
Just want to say that Senor Azul LOVES broccoli. Last night I was taking it out of the package to wash it and he really wanted to go for it as if it were millet spray. I cut the little tops off so it's nice and small like seed/sprouts. It makes me feel so good to see him chow down on healthy food.

·
Registered
9 Posts
I found this information on www.parrotlets.us

Diet
Provide a variety of fresh fruit (listed below) plus cooked and fresh vegetables daily. Frozen mixed vegetables (peas, green beans, lima beans, carrots and corn) is good. Run hot water over them until they are thawed. Cut up (into pieces as small as the frozen mix) fresh broccoli and mix it with the other vegetables. Cauliflower and other vegetables can be added for variety. Only leave these vegetables, and other cooked food, in the cage for 1 hour. They go bad quickly and will make your parrotlet sick if they are left in the cage.

Fruit: apples without the seeds, grapes, berries, peaches, pears, bananas, mangos, melons, cherries without the seeds, etc. Oranges, tangerines and grapefruit should only be given at most twice a week.