Parrotlets Forum : TalkParrotlets banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i currently have Sweetie on Higgins Safflower Gold for Cockateils and Conures but she only eats the Safflower in the seed mix and occasionally some other seeds i bought the Safflower Gold for Parrots and did not realize til today that alot of ingredients are whole and she cannot eat the majority of it. My question is what kind of seed and pellet diet should i get her? the woman who i bought her from said i could give her any seed diet as long as there's no sunflower seeds in it. there are so many bird foods out there and i am new at this and i have no idea on what is best for her

·
Super Moderator
4,920 Posts
Why can't she eat it? Tumi eats that in the cockatiel/conure size. He also eats pellets and nutriberries.

·
Registered
2,254 Posts
Sunflower seeds are OK in moderation. I used to pick them out but my vet told me to stop. He said they provide fun and enrichment in their diet. As long as they are eating a variety of food its okay.

I give Azuki Roudybush crumbles or mini sized pellets. He likes both. He also gets an orchard blend nutriberry and fresh mash everyday. The only seed he gets is a combination on conure and cockatiel seed that is added to his mash.

The most important thing is to make sure they are eating a variety of foods.

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
there's alot of nuts in the shell like almonds and peanuts and theirs hard corn and stuff in their that is to hard for her to bite into due to her incident with the vet she can eat small seeds but the bigger harder stuff she can't i can break it up for her and she might eat it that way and i'll do that til the bag is gone its a 3lb bag so that will last me about 3 months

·
Registered
2,254 Posts
I chop the big stuff up for my conure because she's picky ;) You could always buy cockatiel seed and mix the two.

·
Super Moderator
4,920 Posts