Parrotlets Forum : TalkParrotlets banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I would really love to get a little apple tree for the house - something completely natural that my Linnie can climb around on and chew, as climbing is his favourite thing to do and he's not all that interested in conventional parakeet toys.

The problem is that my local plant nursery sprays their plants with pesticide, and I would imagine that the situation will be much the same anywhere else I go.

I was wondering if I take the tree out into the garden, spray it all over with cider vinegar, and then thoroughly hose it off with water (like on the strongest setting possible without blasting the leaves off), would that be enough to wash off any chemical residues?

·
Banned
1,678 Posts
I am no expert, but I would not think that it would be enough. The pesticides would be absorbed by the plant and possibly contain it in the leaves...

·
Registered
4,849 Posts
Hi! Good to hear from you! I do not know if you know this, but if you are talking about an apple tree that produces apples, you need to check out if the leaves or blooms are poisonous. I heard that the apple core and apple seeds are poisonous to birds, but the meat and skin of the apple is not. Citrus and willow trees are okay and so is a miniature banana tree ( It can be grown inside).

David and Ricochet:cool:;)

·
Super Moderator
6,553 Posts
This might sound odd, but I have seen fruit trees for sale online for delivery. Maybe you can find one?
It's worth asking all the nursery at least, I got organic ones but I live in Vegas so the nursery are endless....

·
Registered
158 Posts