Parrotlets Forum : TalkParrotlets banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I'm new to the parrotlet world and my pacific parrotlet is named Molly. I have a couple questions about her habits that I'm not sure about. She seems to be preening a lot and I was wondering how much a normal amount of preening is. Also she sleeps at the top of her cage usually on both feet, which I have read is abnormal for most birds. She seems healthy otherwise but typically not as active as some. But, I also get the feeling that female pacifics are kind of shy and timid anyway. She loves to come out of the cage however and doze off and on all day on my shoulder. I've had her for about a month and at least 2 weeks at this apartment. They had just clipped her wings before i bought her and mentioned that she became a lot less bold. I feed her well, roudybush minis for all but near the late afternoon when she gets a seed mix of about a teaspoon per day. I also try to give her a solid 12-13 hours of darkness uncovered in my room every night. She stays undisturbed for the most part. Anyone's input would be helpful.

·
Registered
794 Posts