Parrotlets Forum : TalkParrotlets banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, I'm new to this forum but ever since I got my little Butters, I've been reading various forums here. I decided to finally make an account!
Anyway, my question. My baby girl Butters will be a year old since her hatch date in May. I'm new to the world of birds, but I have done lots, and LOTS of research before I even decided to get a parrotlet.
Butters is great, and probably my soul mate, but I have one concern. About last month I noticed when she opens her beak, and I get really, really close, I can get a small whiff of either fresh garlic or skunk...? It's not pungent! It really just smells like how your hands smell after you cut a fresh garlic clove. It's not unpleasant either.
She is very healthy and has no other noticeable issues that I can see. She loves her fruit and veggies (every month I make homemade chop), she is fed Goldenfeast Australian blend (I have decided to switch to MySafeBirdStore's blends), and I give her Zupreem pellets, crushed into almost a powder and sprinkled on her chop.
Should I be worried about this... scent? I mean, I'm always worried because birds are so tiny. But is this something I need to call my vet ASAP for?

·
Super Moderator
4,472 Posts
Check what she is eating. My guys tend to smell like what they eat. Some of that holds on more than others.

Glad you decide to join. Welcome to the hurly burly world of parrotlets.

Reactions: ButteryBiscuit

·
Super Moderator
6,553 Posts