Parrotlets Forum : TalkParrotlets banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Bokeh will be 8 in a few months. All he eats is Harrison's extra fine and millet for training. He has a HUGE!!!! daytime castle (it's 5 ft long, he can do laps), and he gets out to fly for at least 30 minutes every day.

I'm not a cognitive scientist, but I've been studying cog. sci. for years and have been able to synthesize and apply cog. sci. into professional training successfully, for a couple of decades now. So I have some cog. sci. observations and questions to relay:

== talking

Bokeh has a vocabulary of about 20 phrases. What we've noticed is that he has attached meaning to many of these phrases.

• He sings the X-files theme when he's calling to you from a separate room.
  • When we go to the front door, he's likely to shout out our dog or cat's name.
  • when he's angry he shouts, "what-er you doin?"
  • when he wants you to talk to him he says, "perception action, it's not rocket science"
  • when breakfast is late, he'll angrily pace around his castle saying, "Bokeh's a bad-ass!"
(he has to lift his wings for the "b" in badass :) )

So it seems clear that the associations he's made between phrases and a situation are arbitrary, but still it seems clear that the associations are there. (all without aid of a cortex!)

== puzzles

Bokeh can solve a lot of puzzles. You're probably aware of the puzzle with the colored rings and the four columns on which to stack them? Most of the time, he only matches the colors about half the time. But every so often he'll move ten rings in a row and match the colors. 4 to the 10th is a BIG number, it's statistically unlikely that he could do 10 in a row by chance, and he does it every couple of months. So I think that he knows how to match colors, and the rest of of the time he's creating artwork with the color patterns he creates :)

== the challenging news