Parrotlets Forum : TalkParrotlets banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I'm a previous owner of a parakeet who's decided to step up into the world of parrots. I got my young parrotlet, Griffin, three days ago, and already have a few questions. Apologies for sounding like a total noob. 馃槀

1. I understand all parrotlets are individuals, but how long does it typically take for them to begin trusting you, and what can I do to help facilitate that? Right now, I spend hours in the same room as him and talk softly and sweetly to him, but he mostly hides in the back of the cage, poor thing. My hands are terrifying to him so I've been trying to keep them out of his cage, but of course that's not always possible. I read a post here about millet training and have tried that, but he just moves away from my hand/the millet.
  2. Griffin doesn't seem interested in fruits or veggies--I've given him some daily (berries, banana, grapes, broccoli, carrots, etc) but he doesn't touch it and only eats seed, especially millet. Is that normal for young birds? Is there anything I can do to encourage fruit and veg?
  3. He does this weird thing where he seems to suddenly get all excited and starts flying back and forth in his cage, staring at me intently. I've taken this as a sign he wants to come out of the cage. Am I reading this wrong?
  4. Relatedly, is it too soon to open the cage door for him when I'm around? I've been doing this, and yesterday he flew out into the room but still wanted to be away from me while out. He also seemed, um, not great at flying--bumped around a bit and ended up on the floor a couple times. I'm a little concerned I may be jumping the gun on letting him out, but I also fear him getting too used to being in the cage and never wanting to come out, you know?

Appreciate any additional general advice anyone may have related to trust and bonding--that seems to be our big hurdle. Thanks in advance for your guidance!