Parrotlets Forum : TalkParrotlets banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I am new to owning a bird. Should I get one or two parrotlets? I have heard that they get detached from people when they have a bird-friend, but my main purpose of getting ONE (not two) is for me:confused. I need different opinions PLEASE!:confused:

·
Registered
256 Posts
Hi & welcome! From what I have read, you would be best to get one parrotlet if you want him to interract with you and stay sweet. I also think it's best to take your time and find a good breeder that spends the time actually handfeeding and playing with and socializing the babies. I spent years looking for the right person. It was the breeder that swayed me to buy from her. She was very sweet to them, and has help from teenagers playing with them daily. Good luck with whatever you decide. This is a very friendly site with lots of info from our wonderful members.:)

·
Registered
1,633 Posts
Carole gives good advice! I'd start with ONE and form a really good bond with that one. Getting two parrotlets at the same time, I doubt you'd ever really bond with either bird. I bought my parrotlets together as an already bonded pair. It's been extremely difficult to bond with them. I love them so much and they are very happy parrotlets, but just don't love people too much. Also, buying a very socialized baby from a breeder (and really make sure you are getting a socialized baby!) is great advice also! Good luck!

·
Registered
103 Posts