Parrotlets Forum : TalkParrotlets banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone, I've had some experience years ago with larger parrots, so I'm not a complete novice and I had a budgie (store bought and took me forever to get him hand tame, but he ended up becoming so bonded with me, I couldn't get him off of me). I lost him last month, had no plans to get another bird until I saw a parrotlet breeder not far from me so I ended up buying a male, supposed to be 10 weeks (looks a tad older, but I don't know a lot about parrotlets). I thought that a handfed baby would be much more hand tame than this little guy is, he doesn't want to come out of his cage, I have to make him, he jumps and tries to fly away from me when I do have him out, he gets to the floor and runs away. He will step up for me to rescue him from the floor but he desperately tries to make his way back to his cage. He just does not want to stay out with me. I'm practicing 'step up' with him but when he keeps jumping and trying to fly away from me, its hard. I'd like him to stay next to me on his playground and get used to being out of his cage, I have all day to spend with him, practically, I go to school online. Anyone have any suggestions for me to get this little guy to want out of cage time or to be around me. Should I remove the little mirror from his cage, he does spend an awful lot of time hanging on the side of the cage where that mirror is. Thanks.

·
Super Moderator
12,210 Posts