Parrotlets Forum : TalkParrotlets banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just wanted to introduce myself. I'm new to birds. I've kept and bred fish 32 years (sice I was 4 yearsold) and all kinds of herps (turtles, frogs & snakes) off and on. I decided 3months ago I'd get into birds (started with finches). I've always wanted a parrot, but just never got one. 3 weeks ago, I decided I'd give up keeping fish and all other critters. I want to focus on birds (parrotlets). I was at an exotic animal place (4 weeks ago), checking out finches, when a Goffin cocka2 got my attention. I went over to pet him, when I noticed this budgie sized green parrot. I thought this must be a baby. But the staff said it was near full grown. They took it out and this must have been the sweetest bird on earth. She just sat in my hand and rolled over. She let me pet her and then climbed all over me. When she was put back in the cage she hung upside down, then follwed me as I walk around the cage. She was like a puppy. I was hooked. Since then I've been doing research every night and have completed 2 books on parrotlets and parrot species, and another 2 on training. I couldn't wait to take my wife there to see that little bundle of joy. We went this weekend, but someone bought her an hour before we got there.:( My goal is to have 2 for now. I'll get them one at a time and train them to be nice family pets (I'm hoping to get a blue male and a yellow female)

·
Registered
794 Posts
Welcome to the forum :)

That's too bad that somebody bought it right before you :rolleyes:
But, on the bright side, not getting it yet gives you more time to study and research :D

I'm glad that you are doing research, and learning about them so you can be a good owner before you buy them.

Keep us updated, and good luck! :D:D

Again, welcome. ;)

·
Registered
1,026 Posts