Parrotlets Forum : TalkParrotlets banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone!

This is my first time posting on this forum and I am hoping to get some support on dealing with a somewhat "prissy parrotlet" lol. Don't get me wrong I love Lilly to bits but she can be a bit temperamental. I've had Lilly for a month and I've done my research and read a lot of Nikki Moustaki's books on parrots as well as specifically parrotlets. Lilly was so shy when I first got her and definitely would label her "semi-tamed". Yes the breeder handfed her but she definitely didn't get any special attention. She was terrified of my hands and when I brought her home I definitely let her settle in and adapt to her new home. She was a little hesitant about me first but she has come leaps and bounds and most definitely is attached to me now and is quite sassy. Since she was scared of my hands i read that I could do "whittle-down" method of stick training and it worked! She was soon stepping up onto this little perch I had cut to about 18 inches or less. I also have been doing clicker training with her which she enjoys because she is a total millet junkie.