Parrotlets Forum : TalkParrotlets banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
111 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey all!

So Diablo is doing really well after her bout of illness. She eats like a little oinker, she has learned not to be afraid of her bird bath and she is a delight in everyway... except one

It's just a guess, but I think Diablo thinks I'm her boyfriend. When I get up or come home from work she's so ecstatic she's running all over the door ofher cage and hangs off it by one foot while i'm opening it and essentially is berserker until she can get to my shoulder and groom my hair, ears and eyelashes. (and she'd get at my nostril hair if I didn't keep discouraging her based on the fact that I wont' even groom my own.. yuck)
I'm an articled student, so I am out of the house quite a bit but she seems content enough to trash her toys (i stuff chinese finger puzzles with birdie treats and when i come home they are shredded and the treats are nowhere to be found). I take her on the bus with me to work sometimes and even take her on holiday by smuggling her tiny travel cage in my overnight bag onto the ferry.. (no horrible pet area for my beloved birdie!) but... I seem to have given her the impression that we're more than just flock friends.

Anytime ANYONE comes near her when I'm around she goes nuts. She ran at my dad like a bullet train out of Osaka with her beak gaping... across the floor and tried to get him. I was sitting on an armchair and my mom was sitting in hers and Diablo suddenly ran down my arm, across the coffee table... up to my mom's neck only to be thwarted by a mouthful of thick hair. If she doesn't bite, she puffs up and makes this really loud twittering nose and chatters her beak.
She is fearless! She tried to get at my dad's African Grey but since I don't leave her unattended I caught her and removed her from the room.