Parrotlets Forum : TalkParrotlets banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
im a newbie, just thought i'd say hi and also like to mention that i've never kept a parrot, but im thinking about getting a parrotlet, just wanted to know what are they like as pets and just want some general feedback about them, is there any beginner info on this site for newbie owners? thanks saj!

·
Registered
2,429 Posts
To be honest I personally don't think Parrotlets are the best first bird. Hand fed P'lets are super sweet and cuddly when young. When they mature and their hormones kick in they can be at times a handful. They can be very stubborn headstrong birds and can be difficult to control and handle at times. They are more likened to the Amazon in personality.

With all that being said if you do a lot of research on them (not just the babies but as they mature) and you house, feed and meet all their needs they can be the best companions.

Take some time and read through as much of the posts on the site as you can - you will get a good feel for this bird and will also see some issues they have and how to deal with those.

Good luck - and welcome to the site.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks, so what would you advise to get as a first bird? i also been thinking of a green check conure or a senegel!

·
Registered
2,429 Posts
Saj - I don't have any experience with the green cheek so I can't comment on that.