Parrotlets Forum : TalkParrotlets banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Banned
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im getting a 3 month old parrotlet in 2 days and it will cost me $135 and i have no experience with this type of bird. I contacted the breeder on kijiji and he/she said the birds arent really tame yet. So what do i do? Should i tame it myself? If so, how? Please help!! I dont want a bird that hates my guts:(

·
Super Moderator
5,045 Posts
You say you have no parrotlet experience. Do you have parrot experience? There are definite differences between young parrotlets who have been properly handled and those who haven't, but as a whole living with a parrot is different than a cat or dog. All parrots are naturally wild animals, but we focus not on overcoming their instincts but instead bonding with the bird and directing the instincts in manner that works for human and feathered alike. The more you can tell us about both your experience and the parrotlet in question the better we can help you. Welcome to the forum!

·
Registered
404 Posts
Find out as much as you can from the breeder about how they were raised and get some of the food she's already been eating along with fresh millet springs. Put food both high and low.

I would suggest having the breeder clip her wings for safety and training purposes but others might feel differently.

Put her fully set up cage in a central location without direct sunlight or drafts. Spend as much time as you can talking to and watching your new baby. When you first get her, she might take a while to get comfortable and settled. Handle her if you can but, if not just let her get used to your presence and voice for a while.

Also Congratulations on your new baby! Post pictures!

Sent from Petguide.com Free App

·
Registered
11,181 Posts
Congratulations on the new bird. I would suggest reading the sticky in the behavior thread, Less stress, faster bonding (or something like that, I can't remember the exact name right now).

·