Parrotlets Forum : TalkParrotlets banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings, Hello my name is Josh and this is my first post, I'm new to parrotlets. Recently I've made a wonderful new friend with my girlfriend's 3 -4 year old parrotlet Phoebe. I totally love this parrotlet, but one problem is Phoebe is very selective with her eating habits (or habit rather), she is only picking out this one type of seed and not eating anything else. (not sure what they are, they are little white tear shaped seed)

I don't think she is getting everything she needs in her diet so I bought her a premium bag of pellets (Zupreem Fruitblend flavor for small hook-bills.) She totally hates the pellets, I can tell, cause she throws a little fit when I fill her feeder up with them, she just flips through the dish and throws them everywhere and then resorts to forging at the bottom of the cage for fallen seeds. I havent cut her right off of seeds i still let her eat plenty of natural food outside the cage (although not a full meal persey) Shes so picky, I've tried all sorts of treats but it seems it's those white seeds or bust.

Does anybody know what can I do to make this transition easy for the bird. (For that matter how can I even get her to eat one freakin pellet much less a meals worth?) She doesnt get hardly any fruit into her either, I just want to know shes geting all she can from her diet and I doubt those white seeds are going to do it.

Cheers

·
Registered
18 Posts
Hi Josh,