Parrotlets Forum : TalkParrotlets banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi everyone! I have, what I believe, is a four week old Parrotlet who was left to me by an irresponsible person. I have no experience whatsoever in hand feeding and specially with baby birds :( i am terrified but I am this babys’ only hope (please don’t judge me 🙏). I am currently hand feeding three times a day with formula. Today she climbed the bars of her sleeping cage and was flapping her wings. I wanted to know if this behavior is normal? It seemed funny but at her age I was impressed she’d do this. Also what is the correct amount of formula I should be feeding her? I’d greatly appreciate your help!
Bird Beak Parrot Feather Wing
Bird Eye Beak Parrot Natural material

·
Registered
5,086 Posts
Keep her warm . Put tissues around her now! Cover her at night. If she is in a box, then put a thin towel over her, but not on her. I never had to feed a baby p'lett with formula, so most of the replies you will get on this site deals with non-baby birds.

I have seen many videos on You Tube on how to feed the baby p'lett. Ask You Tube videos, " How much formula do I feed a baby parrotlet? " You will get many videos. Please ask them Now! 3 times a day is not enough. I think it is more like 6 times. Check this out for sure.

David

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Keep her warm . Put tissues around her now! Cover her at night. If she is in a box, then put a thin towel over her, but not on her. I never had to feed a baby p'lett with formula, so most of the replies you will get on this site deals with non-baby birds.

I have seen many videos on You Tube on how to feed the baby p'lett. Ask You Tube videos, " How much formula do I feed a baby parrotlet? " You will get many videos. Please ask them Now! 3 times a day is not enough. I think it is more like 6 times. Check this out for sure.

David