TalkParrotlets.com banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So since my parrotlet Matts started moulting his cute and friendly personality has changed a LOT! He is so temperamental and moody, but I know he will get through it! Until then, he does not like when I clean his cage! Up til now he would just perch on the lampshade and let me get on but now he flies towards my face, on the paper towel I'm holding, anywhere to get in the way! He also bites me, which is a sure sign he is not fond of me messing with his cage. Does anyone have any ideas how to manage this? I am new to this biting but when he does I try to do gentle beak and put him back in his cage for a minute, this normally works. But now his cage is open (I have a vision cage) and it's not possible to put him back in. I'm thinking of taking the cage to another room to clean but I don't really like it when he flies around and I'm not with him.

·
Super Moderator
4,873 Posts
Many parrotlets are cage aggressive, and unfortunately distraction and removal is the best method. It would be helpful for you to have at least a carrier, and put Matts in the carrier while you are cleaning so that you don't get attacked. Tumi is not a fan of my cleaning his cage, but I have multiple cages, so I only clean the cage that he isn't in.
It sounds like Matts has hit puberty. It can be rough, but it does end!

·
Registered
731 Posts