Parrotlets Forum : TalkParrotlets banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi guys.
just been reading on the net about p'lets,they say get a bird of the same sex to avoid breeding (obvious).
as you know i have a blue male,and since the other one we was going to introduced died, and after reading that i'm in a dielema.
do i go for male or female.
i know they may never get on but who knows.
he get's on well with our budgie (look at pic in photobucket).
any advice welcome.
all the best steve.

http://s3.photobucket.com/albums/y73/bigdinners/

·
Registered
2,429 Posts
I had a hard time with this one also. At first I was reluctant to get a female simply because I didn’t want to deal with a bird that could possibly start laying eggs. The whole egg-bound thing I just didn’t want to have to deal with.

But in the end and with the advice I received I ended up pairing my male with a female.

I have no first hand knowledge for you on which scenario would work best :confused:

I figured with Mother natures help I had a better shot for success with Male/Female.

Some of the advice I received was that I didn’t have to allow them to raise chicks – they can breed all they want [eh have fun] but Parrotlets aren’t the easiest birds to breed – the conditions need to perfect for success. So don’t give them a box and chances are they won’t go to nest and if they deify this and laid on the ground or in their cups [unlikely as that would be] I can just remove the eggs – freeze them and return them or replace them with fake eggs.

Let us know what you end up doing –

By the way, your photo's are great :D

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
cheers pado. that is what i was thinking also. yes i think i will go for a female.
like you say if you don't give them the conditions to nest 9 times out of 10 they wont. but saying that the breeder i go to has a pair that will lay for fun, box or no box. i think i will pay my money and take my chance.