Parrotlets Forum : TalkParrotlets banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
366 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have no experience with parrotlet breeding. So my question is, at what age can parrotlets start breeding?

·
Registered
70 Posts
Parrotlets should be at least a year old before breeding or the female can become egg bound and die. Also, males feed the female while she sits on the eggs/chicks, and a young male may not feed her enough. In that case the hen will abandon the babies so she can eat.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Parrotlets should be at least a year old before breeding or the female can become egg bound and die. Also, males feed the female while she sits on the eggs/chicks, and a young male may not feed her enough. In that case the hen will abandon the babies so she can eat.
i concure w/ ms f

In addition, if you're into breeding parrotlet. It is better to have 2 or more pairs, i had a problem once w/ my 2 pairs. Aged one and a half year old and yet they are not breeding. So i break the pair, gradually introduce their new partner and in a matter of 1 month finally they breed. :)

·
Registered
794 Posts
EJ when you break the pair as you say does that make them depressed? Are they bonded to each other? Are they happy with the new mate? Do they breed because they like their new mate or because they just do?:confused:

·
Registered
11 Posts
EJ when you break the pair as you say does that make them depressed? Are they bonded to each other? Are they happy with the new mate? Do they breed because they like their new mate or because they just do?:confused:
memmey,

no.... i dont think they are depress at all. they are in the company of sight & sound of others since i have several numbers of them.

no... i dont think they are bonded. they maybe w/ an opposit sex, together in one cage but it doesnt mean that they are bonded. in my opinion bonded pair are TRUE PAIR and that they are capable of breeding